Внимание!
важная информация
для гостей!

Сообщение для гостей в связи
с эпидемиологической обстановкой >>>
Hotel complex
in the city of Arzamas
34a Kalinin st. Arzamas
View map
About Arzamas

 Historic note about Arzamas-town

Arzamas is the 3d largest town in Nizhegorodsky region, a district's center. It is situated in 110 km to the south of Nizhny Novgorod, 410 km away from Moscow. It is on the right bank of the river Tyosha, (a tributary of the Oka-river). Arzamas is a large railway junction, connecting the central part of Russia with Ural and Siberia.

Arzamas is one of the oldest towns of Nizhegorodsky region, was founded by Tzar Ivan IV (the Terrible) during his third campaign towards Kazan' in 1552. Arzamas came into being as a fortified town at the place of the antique settlement of the nationality Mordva-Erzya. The town-fortress was in duty "to be at the tsar's service". The official date of the town's foundation is considered 1578.

The name "Arzamas" appeared as a merging of the Mordvinian words "erzya" - the Mordvinian tribe's name and "mazy" - red, beautiful, there is another version: the name is connected with two brothers Arzai and Masai, who by the legend met Tzar Ivan with gifts and became the first Orthodox in Tzar’s presence. The Arzamas fortress played an important role in the defense of south-eastern borders of Russian state.

The leaders' names of the peasant wars: Ivan Bolotnikov, Stepan Razin (more than 11,000 of his adherents were executed on Ivanov hills from October 1670 to January 1671 in Arzamas), Emelyan Pugachev are connected with the town's history.

There is the legendary name of Alyona Arzamasskaya, a nun who was in charge of 7,000 insurgent peasants in the course of Razin's armed rebellion in the heroic chronicle of the 17th century. She was captured by the government's troops near the town of Temnikov (Mordovia) and burnt alive. There is a memorial to Alyona in Temnikov

From time immemorial Arzamas and its circuit are famous for craftsmen. The leather making, fur-dressing, fat-melting, felt-making, blacksmith's, harness-maker's, brick-making were successfully developed in the past. Owing to its favourable geographic situation Arzamas became a trading center of Povolzhie, known for selling of bread, onions, poultry, livestock, craftsmen' articles.

By the middle of XVIII century Arzamas had become a junction of 10 highways, among them - 4 of State importance.

In olden days they said:” Arzamas-town is the corner of Moscow” or “Geeze kingdom, onion’s capital”.

The development of trade and crafts led to the appearance of rich merchants of all guilds, who had trading firms and shops not only in the native town but also at the large country's fairs.

The town's image was influenced by the results of the development. Arzamas merchants built churches at their expenses and competed in their embellishment. In the end of the XIX – in the beginning of the XX century there were more than 36 churches and 4 monasteries in Arzamas.

Arzamas is connected closely with the history of Russian literature and culture.

Alexander Vasilyevich Stupin was born in Arzamas, in 1802 he created “little academy” - 1st Russian provincial school of arts. It was the first Russian Art school, where serves also studied, getting not only art, but also compulsory education; it gave Russia more than 150artists.

Russian writers P.I. Melnikov-Pechersky, V.G.Korolenko, V.I.Nemirovich-Danchenko, Leonid Andreev, V.V.Mayakovsky, A.S.Pushkin, L.N.Tolstoy, N.G.Chernyshevske, N.M.Karamzin, S.N.Glinka visited Arzamas more than once.

Arzamas is well-known by its talents who have got wide popularity in Russia. Among them M.S. Zhukova (1805-1855) takes a special place. She is one of few Russian women-writers whose work was admired by the famous poets and writers in the XIXth century.

Vakhterov Vassiliy Porfiryevich (1853-1924), the famous teacher, the author of many scientific articles and manuals was born on the Arzamas land. In the beginning of the XXth century Russia was taught by dint of his "Russian ABC-book", and the book for class reading "The World in stories for children" was one of the most wide-spread in the pre-revolutionary school.

Saint Patriarch of Moscow and all Russia Sergiy (Starogorodskiy Ivan Nikolayevich 1867-1944) and Father Johann (Storozhev Ivan Vladimirovich) - the last clergyman of Tzar Nikolay II were born in Arzamas at different times and got the rudiments of ecclesiastical education.

Arzamas is a native town of architect M.P.Korinfskiy (1788-1851). According to his design in 1842 the stately Resurrection Cathedral in honour of the victory over Napoleon was erected.

Arzamas is a youth town of the children's writer A.P.Gaidar (1904-1941). With the rare moving affection the today's inhabitants of Arzamas keep the memorable Gaidar places - a writer's house of childhood, a gymnasium building, a literary museum of A.P.Gaidar.

Arzamas was a place of M.Gorki's exile (1902). M.Gorki organized the 1st public town library. Nowadays there is a memorial museum in the house.

Arzamas is the town-museum itself. More than 140 historical, cultural and architectural monuments are guarded by the state. Among them 25 have general Russian importance.

Arzamas is registered as one of 116 historical towns of our country, needing special attitude to preservation of their historic legacy
The modern town is an important industrial, agricultural and cultural center of the Volga-Vyatsky region of Russia. Produced in Arzamas special machinery, municipal lorries, aircraft and medical instruments, onion and gypsum from Peshelan' are well-known in the country.
There are 3 higher schools, 7 technical secondary schools, a wide network of schools and educational centers for children, drama theatre, 3 museums (historic-artistic, museums after A.M.Gorki and A.P.Gaidar), exhibition halls, gallery of the art school after A.V. Stupin, a centre of national trades in Arzamas.

The busy roads pass through Arzamas towards Pushkin's Boldino and Diveyevo Convent where the relic of Serafim Sarovskiy are reposed.

Leave for Arzamas, touch the mysterious and charming past of the town, feel its extraordinary attraction. And you will understand what attracted a lot of famous Russian literary men, functionaries who considered their duty to pay a visit to the sacred land of Arzamas.  

Only when booking from the site

Nice compliment from the hotel

Booking

Внимание!
важная информация
для гостей!

Сообщение для гостей в связи
с эпидемиологической обстановкой >>>
Гостиничный комплекс
в г. Арзамасе
ул. Калинина, д. 34а
Смотреть на карте
Об Арзамасе
Интереснейший памятник истории и архитектуры
Улица Гостиный Ряд, ведущая вниз с Соборной площади
Николаевского женского монастыря, основанный в 1580 году
Это была первая художественная школа в России, в которой учились и крепостные
Воскресенский собор — ценнейший памятник архитектуры (1814-1842г.г.)
Является венцом храмостроительства «золотого века» Арзамаса
В этом доме писатель А. М. Горький жил со своей семьей в ссылке
расположен в поселке Выездное

Историческая справка об Арзамасе

Арзамас — третий по величине город в Нижегородской области, районный центр. Расположен в 110 км к югу от Нижнего Новгорода, в 410 км от Москвы. Находится на правом берегу p. Теши (приток Оки). Крупный железнодорожный узел, связывающий центральную часть России с Уралом и Сибирью.

Арзамас — один из старейших городов Нижегородской области, заложен по приказу Ивана Грозного во время третьего похода на Казань в 1552 году на месте древнейшего мордовского поселения эрзя. Городу-крепости «велено быти на государевой службе». Официально датой основания считается 1578 год.

Название «Арзамас» произошло в результате соединения мордовских слов «эрзя», названия мордовского племени, и «мазы» — красное, красивое. По другой версии - название города связано с именами двух братьев Арзая и Масая, которые, по одной из легенд, встретили Ивана Грозного дарами и в присутствии царя первыми приняли православную веру. Арзамасская крепость сыграла важную роль в обороне юго-восточных границ русского государства.

С биографией города связаны имена предводителей крестьянских войн Ивана Болотникова, Степана Разина (в Арзамасе с октября 1670 года по январь 1671-го на Ивановских буграх было казнено свыше 11 тысяч разинцев), Емельяна Пугачева.

В героическую летопись XVII века вошел легендарный образ Алены Арзамасской - старицы, возглавившей семитысячный отряд восставших во время разинского выступления. Предводительница отряда была схвачена правительственными войсками под г. Темниковым (Мордовия) и заживо сожжена. В Темникове Алене установлен памятник.

Издавна город и его округа славились мастеровыми людьми. Здесь в прошлом успешно развивались кожевенное, скорняжное, салотопенное, войлочное, кузнечное, шорное, кирпичное и другие ремесла. Благодаря выгодному географическому положению Арзамас стал торговым центром Поволжья, известным продажей хлеба, лука, скота и птицы, изделий ремесленников.

К середине XVIII века к Арзамасу сходилось десять трактов, в том числе четыре — государственного значения.

В старину говорили так: «Арзамас городок — Москвы уголок» или «Царство гусиное, столица луковая».

Развитие торговли и ремесел привело к появлению богатого купечества всех гильдий, имевших торговые дома и лавки не только в родном городе, но и на крупных ярмарках страны.

Результаты этого не замедлили сказаться на облике города. Арзамасское купечество строило на свои средства храмы и соревновалось в их украшении.  В конце ХIХ - начале XX веков в городе насчитывалось 36 церквей и 4 монастыря.

Арзамас прочно связан с историей русской литературы и культуры.

В Арзамасе родился Александр Васильевич Ступин, который в 1802 году создал «маленькую академию» - первую в России провинциальную школу живописи. Это была первая художественная школа в России, в которой учились и крепостные, получая при этом не только художественное, но и общее образование, она дала России более 150 художников.

В Арзамасе неоднократно бывали русский писатель П.И. Мельников-Печерский и В.Г. Короленко, В.И. Немирович-Данченко, Леонид Андреев, В.В.Маяковский, А.С.Пушкин, Л.Н.Толстой, Н.Г.Чернышевский, Н.М.Карамзин, С.Н.Глинка. В 1815 г. имя города было присвоено вольнолюбивому литературному обществу, основанному в Петербурге В.А.Жуковским.

Арзамас славен своими талантами, снискавшими широкую популярность в России. Среди них особое место занимает М.С. Жукова (1805-1855 г.г.) — одна из немногих русских женщин-писательниц, творчеством которой восхищались известные писатели и поэты XIX в.

На арзамасской земле родился Вахтеров Василий Порфирьевич (1853-1924 г.г.) — известный педагог, автор многих научных статей и учебных пособий. В начале XX века вся Россия обучалась по его «Русскому букварю», а книга для классного чтения «Мир в рассказах для детей» была одной из самых распространенных в дореволюционной школе.

В Арзамасе в разное время родились и получили азы духовного воспитания Святейший Патриарх Московский и всея Руси Сергий (Страгородский Иван Николаевич (1867-1944 г.г.)) и отец Иоанн (Сторожев Иван Владимирович) — последний духовный наставник царя Николая Второго.

Арзамас — родина архитектора М.П.Коринфского (1788-1851 г.г.), по проекту которого в городе в 1842 году в честь победы над Наполеоном сооружен величественный Воскресенский собор.

Арзамас — город юности детского писателя А. П. Гайдара (1904-1941 г.г.). С редкой, трогательной любовью сохраняют нынешние арзамасцы памятные гайдаровские места - дом детства писателя, здание гимназии, литературный музей имени А.П. Гайдара.

Арзамас был местом ссылки писателя М. Горького (1902 г.). Горький организовал первую публичную библиотеку города Арзамаса. В доме, где он отбывал ссылку, располагается мемориальный музей писателя.

Арзамас сам по себе город-музей. Более 140 памятников истории, культуры и архитектуры взяты под государственную охрану, 25 из них – памятники общероссийского значения.

Арзамас вошел в число 116 исторических городов нашей страны, требующих особого отношения к сохранению их исторического наследия.

Современный город — важный индустриальный, сельскохозяйственный и культурный центр Волго-Вятского региона России. Широко известны в стране выпускаемые в Арзамасе спецтехника, коммунальные машины, авиационные и медицинские приборы, а также арзамасский лук и пешеланский гипс.

В Арзамасе - три вуза, семь техникумов, широкая сеть школ и детских образовательных учреждений, Театр драмы, три музея (историко-художественный, А.М.Горького и А.П.Гайдара), выставочные залы, картинная галерея художественной школы имени А.В. Ступина, центр народных промыслов и ремесел.

Через Арзамас проходят оживленные маршруты в пушкинское Болдино и Дивеевский монастырь, где покоятся мощи Серафима Саровского.

Приезжайте в Арзамас, прикоснитесь к загадочному и чарующему прошлому города, почувствуйте на себе его необыкновенную притягательность. И вы поймете, что влекло сюда многих известных российских литераторов и общественных деятелей, считавших своим долгом посетить святую арзамасскую землю. 

Только при бронировании с сайта

Приятный Комплимент от гостиницы!

Забронировать